Posted by: ketheredge | April 5, 2013

The Best Kept Secret in Education – Microsoft

I have been contemplating this post, and the following series, for a while now.  In fact, every time I leave a conference or an Innovative Educators Workshop, I remind myself of this series idea.  Well, today I will finally begin, and my goal is to share something new every week.

I know someone is immediately questioning the title, “Hey, Kelli, what’s the secret?  Microsoft isn’t a secret.”  While we all know the company, I find time and time again that many educators are unaware of the amazing resources that Microsoft provides to educators.  I also find that they have no idea that all of these resources are FREE!

For example, did you know that Microsoft has an international website dedicated to educators, over 30 free programs for students and teachers to use in their classroom, free workshops, and an annual global forum that celebrates educators and schools from around the globe?  Surprising, right?

My goal with this series will be to share these amazing resources with you.  I will also explore how you can use these resources in your classroom with your students.

Today’s focus is Microsoft’s international website – Partners in Learning Network – that provides educators with tutorials, lesson plans, discussion boards, and online courses.  Teachers can connect with educators from around the world and learn from each other.  They can also watch videos demonstrating the use of various Microsoft tools as well as search for lesson plans that incorporate 21st century skills and technology into the core content.  They even offer online courses – Teaching with Technology – that are tailored to your skills!  And all of it is for free!  Amazing!

Anthony Salcito, Vice-President for Worldwide Education at Microsoft, has created a tutorial for the website.  Check it out:

Want to join?  It is easy.  Just click here and create a profile on the website.  You can begin exploring the amazing resources on the site in minutes.  And if the resources aren’t enough of an incentive, know that if you register on the site, you have a chance to attend Microsoft’s Global Forum!  You can gain a second opportunity to attend the Global Forum by also completing the Expert Educator application for your chance to be selected into the Expert Educator program.

Stay tuned for the next installment in this series.  I will be sharing one of my favorite tools that you can only get free if you are a member of the Partners in Learning Network – AutoCollage.

Responses

  1. Hi Kelly, I’m looking forward to seeing what you share. I also love Autocollage (and Microsoft :)) – my students have started using it and also love it.
    -Laura Rahn

    • Thanks Laura. If you have an idea for a post let me know. I am open to suggestions. 🙂

  2. […] promised, I am going to share a Microsoft free tool called AutoCollage as my second installment in my Best […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

